What do you want to do when you grow up?

After spending the last two years in “sprogskole”, the danish word for language school, I am now “officially prepared” to speak danish and continue my education in Denmark. Although my speaking skills are not where I would like to be at this point, I am thrilled that I can understand a lot more that is going on around me. With this degree, I now have the opportunity to become more a part of danish society .

Through the years in danish school, I was doing a lot of thinking about my future plans in Denmark and what I want to do with the rest of my life.

I have always had a passion for food and wine. When I was younger, I worked on a Long Island vineyard and enjoyed it immensely. I would host wine pairing dinners and wedding events all summer, give tastings and tours through the fall and even tie back vines in the winter. My dream was to travel the world and work at a different vineyard every year.  My first move after the vineyard was to Manhattan, where I helped open a wine shop. Those plans were short-lived when reality set in and student loans had to be repaid. The minuscule salary barely covered the rent. The next 10 years, I worked in the Fashion industry and reminisced of the days on the vineyard.

Now that I have a chance to re-do my life in Denmark, I have decided to chose a career path that makes me happy like the vineyard did. It’s not an easy task figuring out what you want to do when you grow up. Hey I’m forty, and it took me this long to realize I want to be a chef.  That’s right…I am going to be a pastry chef, aka “konditor”. In two weeks from now, I am heading to a Danish cooking school to begin training. I am beyond excited to start but also petrified. It will be taught in only the danish language which really means I have to step up my danish skills and quickly. I have a meeting next week with a guidance counselor to discuss my upcoming courses and apprenticeships.  Hope you are ready to join along with me on my new journey. I will be blogging about my experiences throughout the process. I will also be posting recipes and other happenings as I go.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

