A long time coming….

For the passed 5 years, I have been trying to pull myself together and start this blog…and now here I am. My intention is to document my experience in a foreign country while trying to find myself and true passions in life. I am a 40- year old woman that has moved away from an urban life in Hoboken, NewJersey  to Slagelse, a rural town in Denmark.

Of course, I must let you know how this city girl ended up on the other side of the world.  Simply enough..LOVE. I met my husband in NYC on a night out with my best friend. We were there to see our favorite U2 cover band. I got more than I bargained for when I saw Jimmy. He stood on the other side of the bar and honestly, I never thought he would talk to me. He was my idea of the dream man. After a little push from my friend, well shove….we met. Last thing I would have thought was he was from Denmark and  this was his first trip to New York. To make a long story short, by the end of the night, I grabbed the collar of his jean jacket and promised I would see him again.  And it was true, two months later, he was on a plane to Newark and the adventure of a lifetime began. It was no bed of roses that laid the road ahead of us. Yes, the story starts like a plot from your favorite soap opera but moving across the world has been no easy task.

After two years of back and forth between two countries, we were married. I spent the first 3 months of our marriage living with my mom in Ohio, without my husband. After I sold just about everything I owned, I headed to Denmark.

0324

That was in December 2012 and I haven’t been back since. Jimmy in NYC3 082

Leave a Reply

